Finding Your Way

By Wesley Schaefermeyer

Registration night. It is 11:59 PM. Everyone is gathered around a computer, staring intently at the clock, waiting for 12:00 AM to tick. As soon as the the bell tolls, everyone around the valley will begin submitting there class schedules, hoping to get the classes that they want at the times they want it!

Picking classes is hard. Sometimes I don’t know what class to go into. Is it going to help me in my education? Is the teacher any good? Will my friends be there? Is this really the degree I want to follow for the rest of my life? Sometimes I feel like I need a guide book or to have someone tell me where I need to go or where to be.

I feel the same way about job searching. What job should I apply for? What will benefit me and my family the most? How can I prepare for interviews? Who will help me?

There is a story about a family in The Book of Mormon that tried to cross unfamiliar territory. They had no idea where to go. They had no idea what to hunt or what to eat. One of the brothers had just broken the best and last bow used for hunting. Everyone was tired and starving. What are they going to do?

What they did do is complain… A lot. Have you ever been so burdened down with worry and have so many things to do and you owe so much money for different bills and all you want to do is sit down and cry? I’m sure that we have all been there, or will be in a similar situation someday. We will complain and shout and throw a pity party and everyone is invited! Woe is me!!!

We could do that, or we could be productive and active about solving our problems. Find a solution! One of the best ways I have found to come to a solution is to turn to the Lord and ask Him for help. That is what this family did. They asked the Lord what they should do and where they should go. The brother, Nephi was his name, made a new bow and the Lord told him where to go to find food for his family.

We all have access to the Lords help. People everywhere from different faiths and beliefs practice prayer, even on a daily basis. The Lord helps them. He helps my wife and me. He gives us guidance in small, subtle ways. He has also given us a great spiritual guide: the scriptures. We can turn to the scriptures and we can turn to the Lord. He has said many times “ask and it shall be given unto you...”

I know that He will help you no matter who you are or what your personal situation is. Turn to Him, talk to Him. The Lord wants to help you; he will help you.

Nephi returned to his family with food, and they were happy! They gave thanks to the Lord for helping them in there time of need.

If we can learn one thing from Nephi, it would be to have faith in the Lord and trust him to help us find our way, no matter who we are or whatever our situation may be.

Photo from: http://rr.proquest.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/06/compass-map.jpg

One comment

  1. What a great reminder that no matter what adversity you are facing, the Lord’s hand is in it and will pull you through. We recently had a similar experience with my husband trying to find work. After a few weeks of looking with no luck, I started to get panicky. I kept trying to remind myself that the Lord was working on the perfect job for us, and He surely was because my husband found an ideal job for our situation right now! He is so good to His children!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment